A mid semester snooze

I’m half way through my first semester of GSLIS, and I’m fairly certain I’ve learned more in these past 10 weeks than in my entire career as an undergraduate. That being said, my brain needs a break. And I’m happy to give it one!

People unwind differently. Me, personally, I’m a fan of indulging in the occasional Netflix binge and a glass of wine, or two. Sometimes Walter White and Fox Mulder just take precedence.

Also, yoga! One morning, at least once a week. No matter how busy I am, or how stressed out I’ve become, I take 45 minutes and just let it all go. In those precious, present moment minutes nothing else matters. And sure enough, everything is still waiting for me when I’m done, just where I left it.

If I’m still feeling burnt out, a change of scenery is my fail safe. Someplace that isn’t home, or school, or work. Major bonus points if that place happens to include espresso and free wi-fi. But even something as simple as a walk around the block with my dog will do wonders for my sanity and get my head back in the game.

Honestly, with the amount of time and effort I put into my education, two jobs, and 8 year old son, my brain absolutely deserves a mental vacation every now and again. By any mean necessary.

Image

Leave a Reply

